The Australian Institute of Architects has released the shortlist for the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

40 entries were submitted to the program this year, with shortlisted projects covering a wide range of building types - everything from a major art gallery expansion through to smaller coastal houses.

Dales of Derby by Philip M Dingemanse. Image: Luke Hesketh.

Jury chair Neal Mackintosh, director of JAWS Architects, said “As usual, a high level of inventiveness is evident, with Tasmanian architects stretching lean budgets to produce spatially rich and engaging buildings.”

The winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards will be announced at a presentation on 6 July.

Shortlist - 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

  • Crump Treehouse – Crump Architects (pictured at top, image by Andrew Knott)
  • Dales of Derby – Philip M Dingemanse
  • Devonport Living City Stage 1 – Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli
  • Domain Community Hub – Field Labs
  • Farm Hill House – Preston Lane
  • Floodlight House – Crump Architects
  • Freycinet Lodge Coastal Pavilions – Liminal Architecture
  • Glasshouse – Preston Lane
  • Glenorchy Health Centre – Liminal Architecture with DesignInc
  • House at Otago Bay – Topology Studio
  • Kosaten Launceston – Cumulus Studio
  • Manuka Road – Morrison and Breytenbach Architects
  • Mount Stuart Greenhouse – Bence Mulcahy
  • Pharos – Fender Katsalidis
  • SUSH – Core Collective Architects with Christopher Clinton Architect
  • TasPorts Cruise Ship Shelters – Cumulus Studio
  • The Bae Tas – Workbylizandalex
  • Trapper and Burt’s – 1+2 Architecture
  • Ulverstone Secondary College Year 11 and 12 – Philp Lighton Architects